Lesson: Josephina


Hola!  I’m still really slacking off on my lesson posts… I really need to work on that. 

This week, Christina assigned our horses again. She assigned me a horse who we have not had in our class for a while, the fleabitten gray Arab Joe! A trainee led him to the taller mounting block (errr.. a tree stump) and I got on. I got my stirrups shortened and walked him into the arena. We warmed up. When we were to jog, Joe became his normal speedy self, trotting quickly. I sat deeply in the saddle and checked the reins until he relaxed and slowed down.

We walked as a class, and one by one loped. On my turn, I turned Joe into the middle of the arena and asked him to lope. He shot into his speedy lope and I pulled back on the reins slightly while sitting deeply to ask him to slow down. Then, we halted at the cone. I praised him and had him walk along the rail with the rest of the class.

We reversed directions and loped again, working on halting from the lope. This time, Joe was the same but didn’t stop immediately. I backed him up until he was aligned with the cone and praised him when he halted. We did some weaving next, where instead of steering the horses like normal, we were to leg yield back and forth at the trot to weave around the cones on two ends of the arena. I used my legs to steer Joe, and he was pretty responsive to them. He leg yielded perfectly whenever we were supposed to weave around the cones. Dakino lined up the class down center line, and we did an exercise.

We were supposed to turn right, weave through the cones doing leg yields, trot to the other side of the  arena, weave, u-turn, and then leg yield to the rail of the arena and return to the end of the line. When Utah went before me, Joe became uneasy and wanted to move, so I turned him around to face the group and he calmed down.

On our turn, Joe shot forward when I asked him for forward motion and he started to lope. I pulled him into the trot, and we leg yielded around the cones. when turning around to leg yield to the rail, Joe kept missing the cone and so we continued past the part of the arena that was reserved for the lessons until Joe got along the rail. I backed him up until he was next to the cone, waited for him to come to a complete halt, and praised him. We went to the back of the line. Dakino was first in line, and she was told to do the same thing but turning to the left first instead of to the right. On Joe’s turn, he was still antsy but acted a lot better. On our turn, we did much better and only had to turn around and redo leg yielding to the rail.

After the exercise, we dismounted our horses and took them up to the office.

**************************

This is a small summary about last week’s lesson

Last week,  we were assigned, and I got the sorrel gelding Jupiter. When loping, he was super speedy again, like usual. He was a great ride 🙂

**************************

A/N: Hello peoples! So I’m almost done with lessons. Sad face. Dakino rode a mare. Guess who?? Mustang Sally! Click here to read more about her experience with Sally. Joe is an amazing horsie to ride ❤ I think I’d be fine if I had to ride him for camp. Seriously. The only issue I’d really worry about is the fact that he’s hard to bridle and unbridle. And he’s ear shy I think. But I think Dakino was jealous! hah. just kidding, just kidding.

Dyvergent ♥

65 thoughts on “Lesson: Josephina

  1. If you get Joein your camp you have to tell everything about him. LOL! Do you do a lot of stuff with your horse in Western B?

    • LOL you do 🙂 and OKAY 😀 ahaha i might miss my show day for camp though 😦 i might miss the show/might be able to go, because I have my high school orientation from 8-1… and it takes 45 minutes to drive to the ranch.

    • you ride seven sprints trail (you get to trot at some areas too) to this little flat area where you tie your horses to trees and you sit on the floor and eat and then when youre done you might have a little lesson.. and then you get back on your horse and ride back to the ranch

Leave a Reply

