Horse Expo


On Friday, my dad drove my sister and me up to Sacramento to go to the Western States Horse Expo. It was a great experience going up, even though we ended up having to drive for over 3 hours to get to Sacramento. We went to the expo on the second day, the hottest day of the weekend (and the hottest day of the 3 days the expo was here).

We arrived at 9:00 AM, and it was already 80 degrees outside! We entered the expo and made our way to the Spirit Arena, all the way at the back of the expo, to watch a Dressage clinic that included my dad’s friend’s horse. They talked about half passing, shoulder-ins, different sized circles, collection and extension, and piaffes.

After the clinic, I went to the barn with the horse’s owner to meet her horse, a fifteen year old bay Lusitano gelding named Rawasco who was imported from Portugal a few months ago. We rinsed him down and dried him a bit, and I got to cool him down by walking him around for a bit.

It got hot, so we browsed around the sales before leaving.

 

Sorry this is really late, I wanted to post this at the beginning of the week but I got lazy. I know. Bad Dyvergent. But it’s finally up! Yay! hah.

DyvergentΒ β™₯

61 thoughts on “Horse Expo

    • Haha, I’m hoping for Joe or Snickers. Joe is really fun to ride (i finally rode him..) and the only bad thing about him is bridling/unbridling him. and Snickers is genuinely one of my favorite horses to ride at Garrods. My other favorite.. Jupiter.. is a Western B camp so he might be in your camp πŸ˜€

    • Yeah, theyre both really good horses πŸ™‚ I just realized… when I have camp there’s going to be a B camp that starts at the same time. Meaning all the good horses will be taken. B camp always gets the good horses. haha. They get Jupiter, Travis, Nicoya, etc.

    • Actually, he does both camps. In the 2 camps I’ve done so far at Garrod’s, he’s been in both camps. And Dakino rode him for Western B camp last year. Oh, btw, tell sum yue that paisley’s back this year πŸ˜€

    • Haha, SORRY PAISLEY xD jkjk. I love all the garrod horses (except tonic..) so any garrod horse and I’d be fine with it. But I don’t want to ride willy. And.. I dont know about summer camp horses. I never really met many. But Elmo is a weird horse to ride..

    • Theres Jupiter, Centaur, er…. a lot of the horses from my class. the 1:00 class. um. Who else? Murphy. Kash maybe. Paisley…Shooter maybe? Jetta…you could get rey,Pedro, Lakota, yeah,…

    • I actually haven’t ridden him since I started the 1:00 class, but to my knowledge hes a really fun horse to ride.. but he bolted a few times with me πŸ˜›

    • no, she doesn’t ride. And for Joe.. I’m not sure. haha. He’s fine with steering, and its definitely easy to get him into a faster gait. I mean, he’s Joe. LOL

Leave a Reply

