What’s Been Going On

Haha sorry this is such a poorly written post.

I realized that I haven’t posted in quite a while, so I decided to keep you guys updated on what’s been going on.

Nothing much has happened since my last post. I’ve still been taking lessons with Warren and my trainer, and we’ve been working on getting him onto contact without leaning on the bit, as well as keeping him balanced. The most interesting thing that happened was Warren running out of the main arena, down the hill, and kicking, trying to get out of work.

I did a simple bareback trail around the ranch last week, and the pony was a lot happier! He didn’t make any attempts to bite me at all, unlike the week before.

I’ve also just begun summer camp! For the next two weeks, I will be spending practically every day at the ranch. I’m taking an advanced camp with Ivana, and so far, it’s turning out to be really fun! We vaulted in the morning, and went straight into vaulting at the trot instead of learning all the compulsories at the walk then trot. We had to do two moves on the back (one facing forward and one facing backward) and one on the neck. Everything went smoothly until I was getting off the neck and sliding onto the back, since the surcingle wasn’t put on tight enough and everything, including the pads, slid and pushed me off the horse.

We rode after, and I was put on a mare that liked to walk away at first, Kahula. Our camp  just walked, did some posting trot and trotting in two point, before switching horses a few times for the counselor to see how we did with the different horses.

We got assigned our camp horses by the afternoon ride, meaning the horses we were told to ride will most likely end up being our horse for the two weeks of camp. I was given a tall chestnut horse, Utah, for camp. We basically did the same thing in our afternoon ride without changing horses, plus some work on getting them to do a bigger trot on two sides of the arena and a slow western jog on the other two sides of the arena.

 

I may post more about camp tomorrow, though I may not if nothing very exciting happens. I’m really glad to be riding in the advanced camp where we get to do more!

 

